Skip to content
Greenwich Counts — Greenwich, in numbers.Local help →

Greenwich, in numbers

People and living standards

Greenwich council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Greenwich council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 210,865 in 1991 to 301,225 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Greenwich council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 209,839 people in 1996; 301,225 people in 2025. 43.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Greenwich council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991210,865
1992211,922
1993211,340
1994210,197
1995209,254
1996209,839
1997211,249
1998212,322
1999212,168
2000214,438
2001217,460
2002221,476
2003224,303
2004227,190
2005230,494
2006233,990
2007236,535
2008239,748
2009243,672
2010249,171
2011255,483
2012260,360
2013264,036
2014268,305
2015274,230
2016278,768
2017282,376
2018285,773
2019288,205
2020288,384
2021289,537
2022293,348
2023297,945
2024301,259
2025301,225
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Greenwich council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,324 people in 1996; 55,235 people in 2025. 16.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Greenwich council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199146,510
199247,217
199347,581
199447,706
199547,349
199647,324
199747,395
199847,435
199946,817
200046,698
200146,648
200247,278
200347,856
200448,167
200548,969
200649,889
200750,915
200851,715
200952,890
201054,215
201155,556
201256,329
201357,279
201458,058
201559,195
201660,177
201760,850
201861,123
201960,828
202060,398
202159,179
202258,784
202358,017
202457,107
202555,235
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Greenwich council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 132,976 people in 1996; 212,562 people in 2025. 59.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Greenwich council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991133,077
1992133,653
1993133,078
1994132,230
1995131,967
1996132,976
1997134,719
1998136,113
1999136,950
2000139,781
2001143,059
2002146,659
2003149,253
2004152,146
2005155,031
2006157,923
2007159,870
2008162,436
2009165,065
2010169,077
2011173,696
2012177,088
2013179,307
2014182,412
2015186,773
2016190,050
2017192,737
2018195,523
2019197,778
2020198,129
2021199,888
2022203,584
2023208,232
2024211,624
2025212,562
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Greenwich council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 29,539 people in 1996; 33,428 people in 2025. 13.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Greenwich council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199131,278
199231,052
199330,681
199430,261
199529,938
199629,539
199729,135
199828,774
199928,401
200027,959
200127,753
200227,539
200327,194
200426,877
200526,494
200626,178
200725,750
200825,597
200925,717
201025,879
201126,231
201226,943
201327,450
201427,835
201528,262
201628,541
201728,789
201829,127
201929,599
202029,857
202130,470
202230,980
202331,696
202432,528
202533,428
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 289,065 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Greenwich · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh38,02813.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African60,60221%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups17,2976%
White161,00655.7%
Other ethnic group12,1324.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 254,557 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Greenwich · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White159,00262.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups12,2744.8%
Asian/Asian British29,89411.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British48,65519.1%
Other ethnic group4,7321.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 214,403 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Greenwich · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White165,33577.1%
Mixed5,8602.7%
Asian/Asian British14,5396.8%
Black/Black British23,75411.1%
Chinese/Other4,9152.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 13.2% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Greenwich council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £13,497 per person in 1997; £29,396 per person in 2024. 117.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Greenwich council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199713,497
199813,536
199914,170
200014,817
200115,419
200215,478
200315,974
200416,410
200516,834
200617,137
200718,071
200818,406
200918,346
201018,505
201118,279
201218,886
201319,678
201420,318
201521,249
201621,669
201721,755
201822,923
201923,671
202023,825
202124,610
202226,261
202327,507
202429,396
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Greenwich council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 27.2% in 1997; 13.2% in 2024. 14 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Greenwich council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199727.2
199825
199925.3
200024.5
200124.6
200222.3
200322.5
200420.9
200519.7
200617
200717.8
200816.9
200914.6
201014.6
201112.2
201211.8
201312.3
201412.4
201511.7
201612.5
201710.4
201812.3
201912.3
202013.5
202112.7
202214.4
202312.5
202413.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62.2%

21 March 2021 · Greenwich council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.6%

21 March 2021 · Greenwich council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.7%

21 March 2021 · Greenwich council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.6%

21 March 2021 · Greenwich council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£463,000

July 2026 · Greenwich council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,995

August 2026 · Greenwich council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.